If you or someone you know has been involved in an accident involving injury in Texas, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. There are several ways to go about this. First, you can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. While your own insurance policy might cover the damages caused by the accident, liability insurance only covers a certain amount of money. In either case, you should contact a qualified auto accident attorney for assistance. The attorney will use evidence to build a case.
Next, you should know your rights and responsibilities if you are involved in an accident. Texas law requires drivers to stop and identify themselves when involved in a car accident. You are also required to stop and render aid to any injured parties. If you are found guilty of this violation, you can face up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine. To learn more about your rights, you should contact an attorney.
If you have suffered an injury due to the negligence of another driver, you may be entitled to compensation for the damages you sustained in the crash. Texas uses a modified comparative fault system that allows victims to sue for injuries and damages that exceed the policy limits. This may help you avoid an increase in your insurance premiums. Further, you may be able to sue the driver for negligence if the damages exceed the limits of your insurance policy.
Remember to fill out an accident report as soon as you can after an accident. Failure to file a report may result in your arrest. Additionally, statements made in the accident report cannot be used against you in a civil suit. Therefore, you should take steps to minimize liability in order to avoid criminal charges. These steps may include waiting for the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident, entering a nearby business, taking pictures of the damage caused to the other car and removing the other driver's license from the scene.
If an accident is a serious one, the driver must immediately return to the scene. If it is not, he must provide personal information and his driver's license. In Texas, a third-degree felony conviction can result in a sentence of two to 10 years in prison. However, a minor injury can still result in a fine of up to $5,000 for the driver. The driver who flees after an accident will be punished by one year in county jail or up to five years in state prison.
In addition to the potential jail time, failure to render aid after an accident can result in a prison sentence. Failure to render aid after an injury is a third-degree felony. In Texas, failure to render aid can lead to a prison sentence of up to 10 years. If a victim suffered an injury, the court will typically rule that the driver was negligent. Depending on the extent of the injury, non-ser can result in a misdemeanor charge.