Who Are The Houston Rockets

Who Are the Houston Rockets?

If you're a basketball fan, you know that the Houston Rockets are a great team to watch. They have won two NBA titles and advanced to the finals four times. However, they have been eliminated in the first round five times in six seasons. Who are the Houston Rockets

In 1967, the Houston Rockets began their NBA career in San Diego. The team moved to Houston in 1971. After four seasons, the team went on to have its best season in franchise history, finishing 45-37. A few years later, they were back in the playoffs and swept their first-round series against the Los Angeles Lakers.

The team went on to win the Midwest Division in 1984. That year, the team had three All-Stars in their lineup: Hakeem Olajuwon, Clyde Drexler, and Charles Barkley. Also, the team had the youngest roster in the league in the early 21st century.

The Houston Rockets are an NBA franchise that has produced many great players throughout its history. Some of these names are Elvin Hayes, Moses Malone, Clyde Drexler, Hakeem Olajuwon, Tracy McGrady, Michael Jordan, Kevin McHale, Shaquille O'Neal, and James Harden.

The Rockets began their tenure as an NBA team in 1967 and have since led the league with several different styles of play. The Rockets are considered one of the top teams in the Western Conference. Since their move to Houston, the team has had the opportunity to meet and compete with the Golden State Warriors, the Los Angeles Lakers, the Houston Oilers, and the Chicago Bulls.

In the 1990s, the Rockets won back-to-back titles. That is, they won the regular season and the NBA Finals. However, they failed to make it past the second round for the next nine years. This is the longest stretch of time they've missed the playoffs in a single decade.

During the early part of the 21st century, the Rockets had a young core that included Yao Ming and Dwight Howard. Those two stars retired and the team retooled its roster. Now, the team is led by former Sixth Man of the Year, James Harden.

During the 1990s, the Rockets were one victory away from reaching the NBA Finals for the second straight year. The team lost to the Boston Celtics in the Eastern Conference Semifinals. The team's playoff record was 41-41.

In the mid-1990s, the Rockets were coached by Rudy Tomjanovich. He led the team to its most successful period of history. With Tomjanovich at the helm, the Rockets won the franchise's first two conference titles and reached the Western Conference Finals for the first time.

After four seasons in San Diego, the team relocated to Houston. The Rockets began their first season in the NBA with an 11-14 record. However, they did not make it to the end of the regular season with a winning record until the 1976-77 season.

Despite a few notable players leaving the team, the Rockets continued to have a strong presence in the Western Conference. That is until James Harden was traded to the Brooklyn Nets in January 2021.