If you've been in a car accident, you probably have questions about Texas car accident law. If you've had a personal injury or have been involved in a hit-and-run, you should hire a legal professional to represent your interests. The following information will answer some common questions and explain what Texas law can mean for you. You can also contact the Texas Department of Insurance to learn more. You should never sign anything until you understand it completely. Texas Car accident law firm
You should also get your insurance company's name and contact information from the other driver, if possible. You should also get the name and contact information of any witnesses, and take photos of the scene. Texas is a comparative fault state, meaning that the responsible driver or drivers may be held accountable for your accident. Despite this, a two-car "he said/she said" situation may result in your car being deemed as the at-fault driver.
Texas car accident law requires you to report the accident as soon as possible. While there are several ways to report an accident, the most convenient method is to call 911. An officer will be dispatched to the scene to make an accident report. This report is important evidence for any future claims. Once you've gathered evidence, you can begin pursuing legal action. This may involve filing a claim with the at-fault driver's insurance company or with your own insurance company.
A legal action is an intimidating and complex process, so it's best to work with an experienced Texas car accident attorney. This way, you can be sure that all legal processes will be completed in the correct time frame. You'll need to file a lawsuit within two years of the accident. Otherwise, you may be forced to settle your case with the other driver's insurance company. So, the sooner you contact a Texas car accident attorney, the better.
The best way to choose an attorney for your case is to research attorneys before the accident occurs. A competent attorney can investigate the details of the accident, identify potential defendants, file a lawsuit in civil court, and deal with the insurance adjusters on your behalf. An attorney will also help you in the courtroom if necessary. When in doubt, it's always best to retain the services of an attorney to discuss the case and obtain compensation.
Keeping the costs of insurance down is an important part of a successful case. In Texas, drivers must carry liability car insurance to compensate the other driver in case they are found to be at fault in an accident. The minimum coverage amount for liability insurance is $30k per injured person for a total of $60 per accident. Additionally, the amount of coverage for property damage is $25k. This is called 30/60/25 insurance coverage and will cover the other driver's medical bills, funeral expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.