If you own a car and are driving in Texas, you may be wondering about the emergency vehicle laws in Texas. These laws were enacted by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, which became effective Sept. 1, 1995. As a result, you must be careful and observe the traffic laws in Texas. Failure to give way to emergency vehicles can result in a $200 fine or worse.
If you are driving in Texas, you should slow down to avoid crashing into an emergency vehicle. If you are in the opposite lane, you must move over 20 miles per hour below the speed limit. Failure to do so will result in a citation. You may also be forced to pull over if the emergency vehicle comes from the opposite direction. This is to ensure that you and the emergency responder will be safe.