Texas Traffic Laws 2021
Texas has just passed a new set of traffic laws. These changes are effective on September 1, 2021. Despite these changes, many Texans are still confused about how the new laws will affect their lives. Here are some things to know about the new rules. Remember that these changes are only temporary and drivers will still have some time to adjust to them. For those who do not have a problem with these new laws, there is still a grace period until January 2014 to comply. car wreck lawyers near me
The current "Move Over/Slow Down" law requires motorists to move over for stationary emergency vehicles and to slow down to 20 mph. Under this new law, motorists must slow down and yield to emergency vehicles and slow down when approaching them. Violations of this new law can result in fines of up to $500 and physical injury. However, drivers must always slow down before approaching emergency vehicles, even if the law doesn't say so.
SB442 would ban drivers from using hand-held mobile devices while driving. However, drivers would still be allowed to use dash cams and dedicated GPS devices. The new law will also prohibit drivers from blocking emergency vehicles. The bill also increases the punishment for blocking emergency vehicles. In the past, protestors blocked streets for emergency vehicles. Those who blocked roads for emergency vehicles will now be facing felony charges. Further, HB 625 will clarify the penalty for driving without a license plate. It is now a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine.
The new Texas traffic laws will continue to enforce the use of seat belts. Seat belts are an important part of road safety and this law carries a $200 fine for those who violate the law. In addition to this, drivers must not use cell phones or other wireless devices while driving. These laws will make the roads safer for everyone on the road. They will prevent countless lives from being lost in accidents and other serious incidents.
The new law will also prevent profiling of minorities by law enforcement officials. It also allows defendants to file civil suits against law enforcement officers, and peace officers will no longer be able to claim official immunity as a defense in these civil suits. Meanwhile, HB795 and HB1946 make it possible for municipalities to name highway safety corridors where violations of traffic laws would be doubled.
In September 2019, the DPS has also increased the penalty for leaving the scene of a fatal accident. Leaving the scene of an accident is now a felony, which carries a maximum penalty of 2-20 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000. The Texas DPS wants to send a message to drunk drivers that leaving the scene of an accident is even worse than DWI. Fortunately, there is a simple solution to this problem: not to drink and drive.
The Transportation Code Crimes contains the criminal statutes and license suspensions. The table also includes helpful case notes and practice tips. The Texas Department of Public Safety encourages drivers to attend driver's ed courses as these courses keep them updated on the latest laws. This ensures a safe and courteous driving environment. These new laws will continue to change, so it is important to update your knowledge. The following are some of the more important Texas traffic laws in 2021.