After being in a car accident, you may be wondering what steps you need to take to make sure you get the best compensation possible. You may have to file your claim within two years of the accident, but this time period is shortened if you were partially at fault for the crash. It's essential to retain an attorney who can guide you through the process. Also, you need to understand the time limits that apply to filing lawsuits.
If you have been injured in a car accident, you may want to seek compensation from the responsible party. To do this, you can file an injury claim with the negligent party's insurance company. However, insurance carriers are notorious for lowballing and delaying their victims. Additionally, you'll be out of work for some time while you wait to receive compensation. Ultimately, you may want to hire a Texas auto accident lawyer to help you fight for the compensation you deserve.
In Texas, accidents are considered "fault" accidents. This means that both drivers may be partially at fault, but the at-fault driver is held responsible for the accident. However, despite Texas' fault-based system, all drivers are required to have liability insurance. The minimum required liability coverage is $25,000 for property damage, $30k for each injured party, and $60k for the accident. The higher the value of the insurance, the more coverage you can receive.
After a car accident, the next step is to gather evidence. Gather as much information as you can about the incident. Document all the road signs and road hazards. Also, gather witness statements if necessary. If you have enough evidence to prove that another driver was at fault, you can file a claim. Your attorney can help you with the insurance company and help you seek the best compensation for your injuries. Also, you can claim uninsured motorist coverage.
Liability coverage pays for the other driver's car and his or her passengers. This coverage also pays for your medical bills, as well as their passengers'. Texas law requires that you carry at least $50,000 in liability coverage for an accident. However, this may be insufficient in many situations. Liability insurance does not always cover the cost of medical care or repairs. In these cases, it's critical to pursue an auto insurance claim.
If you were at fault for a car accident, you may be able to file a lawsuit against the other driver. Texas' at-fault auto insurance laws mean that you can sue the at-fault driver if you have sufficient evidence. Unlike in many other states, at-fault drivers cannot sue for damages that exceed their insurance limit. The insurance carrier of the at-fault driver's vehicle will cover the expenses of the accident if it is found to be at fault.
You should also consult with a personal injury attorney to determine how much your case is worth. Depending on the facts of the accident, you may be able to collect up to $30k in total compensation from the at-fault party. However, if you are only 10 percent at fault, you'll only be able to collect $9,000. If you were more than 51% at fault, you may not be able to recover anything at all. If you can't recover more than the statutory damages, Texas auto accident attorneys can also work out a settlement.