Texas Traffic Law
One thing you should always remember in Texas traffic law is to give way to oncoming traffic. It is against the law to cut across a lane, even if you are turning left. This can result in a ticket. To avoid this, you should try to drive 20 mph below the posted speed limit. The following is a detailed description of the traffic law in Texas. It may seem confusing, but it really is simple once you understand it.
When driving, it is important to remember that a steady red light is an indicator. When approaching an intersection with a red light, you must stop. Turning right is legal, but you must stop first. Turning left is only permitted in certain circumstances, such as a one-way street or with special authorization. In any case, you should always follow standard right-of-way rules. In addition, a steady red signal is a sign of danger for motorists.
Another violation of Texas traffic law is not yielding to pedestrians. Drivers must yield to pedestrians in crosswalks. However, this doesn't mean that they have to cross the street, and you should also look to make sure they don't cross the road. If you're not sure that the pedestrian is about to cross the street, you must stop your vehicle immediately. Additionally, Texas traffic law says that you should signal when you change lanes. If you have a blinker, you can signal your intention to change lanes.
Fortunately, there is a grace period before the new Texas traffic laws take effect. You have until January 2014 to comply with new laws, but you will still be subject to harsher penalties if you violate the new laws. For instance, drivers with provisional licenses are prohibited from using their cell phones for the first 12 months. This ban will apply to all drivers under the age of 18 as well. This is a good idea if you're unsure about what laws to follow.
In Texas, the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) vehicles must be given the same consideration as other emergency vehicles. You must drive at least 20 mph slower than the speed limit. You may even be forced to slow down to five mph if the TDTL vehicle is approaching you. If this happens, you'll need to move over for safety. In any case, if you're going faster than the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) vehicle, you must give way to it.
Likewise, you should slow down when approaching a school bus or any other vehicle. Not only is this dangerous, but it puts the children of the school bus in danger. Additionally, violating this law can result in heavy fines, and incarceration for repeat offenders. This is why it's so important to follow Texas traffic laws. The consequences are severe. A first offense can result in a $1250 fine and a two-day jail sentence if you're caught multiple times.