New Rule in Texas Driving
Did you know there is a new rule in Texas driving? It's called "move over/slow down" and was implemented in 2003. It requires drivers passing emergency vehicles to move over one lane and slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. It also explicitly prohibits drivers from reverse driving on freeways. You must yield to emergency vehicles, not try to move into their lane. And finally, you must never go over the speed limit - even in your own lane.
Leaving the scene of an accident is now considered a felony of the second degree, or "intoxicated manslaughter." It carries a two to twenty year jail term and a fine of $10,000. In addition to the new penalties, the Texas DPS wants to send the message that leaving an accident scene is even worse than driving under the influence. So how can you avoid these penalties? One of the easiest ways is to never drink and drive.
A new law is aimed at making distracted drivers more careful. Drivers who hit pedestrians while distracted will face state jail time and fines. But there's an alternative to incarcerating these drivers: peer-to-peer car sharing. With these programs, drivers and owners can connect with each other and share a car for a small fee. It's important to be aware of this new rule before driving.
While a driver can still make a left or right turn on a red light, Texas drivers can no longer display an inspection sticker on their windshields. Still, drivers must pass a state inspection to keep their car roadworthy. State inspection sites still check tires, lights, and wipers to ensure the car is safe. These changes are expected to save the state $2 million dollars in materials. So, how can you make safe driving decisions?
One new rule in Texas driving is aimed at reducing distracted driving. Texting while driving is illegal in most cities, but the new law doesn't apply to drivers who are not yet 18 years old. However, drivers who are under 18 are still prohibited from using handheld cell phones for six months. Drivers who are under 18 years old can't use any devices if they're driving under the age of 18.
If you're a student driver, you should take a driver education course. It's a great way to stay updated on the latest Texas traffic laws. But be warned: driving under the influence of alcohol can lead to serious consequences, especially when you're a student. If you don't take the time to learn about these laws, you'll likely end up in trouble. So, what are you waiting for? Take a driver education course today to get ahead of the game!
HB3990 also aims to address the problem of right-angle crashes in Texas. The bill requires law enforcement officers to report non-signaled intersections to TxDOT, which is responsible for the intersection's unsafe condition. TxDOT must then do a thorough traffic study, improve the safety of the intersection, and file a report on the intersection. It's not uncommon for teens to make the mistake of driving while distracted.