Houston Lyft/Uber Accident Lawyer
Ridesharing is here to stay. However, not many people know what to do if they get injured in an accident while using a rideshare service.
If you recently got into an accident with a rideshare driver or received an injury as a passenger, see below for your legal options. The idea of independent contractors complicated the concept of liability, so you need to understand how to file a claim.
Texas insurance laws
Texas requires drivers to carry insurance up to a certain amount. Drivers must have at least $30,000 of coverage per person in an accident. However, this only extends to a minimum of $60,000, so there is a good chance the rideshare driver cannot cover your medical bills with their insurance.
If the driver has a commercial insurance policy or a particular provision, you should receive medical coverage from the rideshare driver’s insurance. However, most rideshare drivers do not carry commercial insurance. If the responsible driver has a business use exception in their policy, their insurance will refuse to pay for any damages. Luckily, Uber and Lyft offer up to $1 million in coverage after the driver’s insurance can no longer pay for damages.
Claims against the rideshare company
Unfortunately, it is challenging to pursue damages from the rideshare company. Uber and Lyft keep their drivers as independent contractors, meaning they do not have liability for any injuries their drivers cause. The only avenue available for you is to prove the company is at fault for the contracted driver’s accident.
Rideshare apps present some complicated legal scenarios. In most cases, you should receive compensation from the company or driver’s insurance policy.
Do Not Wait To Get Aggressive Representation! Call Our Houston, Dallas, and McAllen Lyft/Uber Accident Lawyers!!!
At Rose Sanders Law Firm, PLLC, we understand the difficult position you are in after a rideshare accident and the stress you now face. Our Uber/Lyft accident lawyers will fight hard to get you the compensation you deserve. We offer free consultations, and you won’t pay anything unless you win your case. To arrange a free initial consultation with a knowledgeable rideshare lawyer, contact us online or by telephone at 713-231-9288.